TESOL Thoughts

Reflections on Teaching and Learning

Thinking About Blended Learning in EAP

Image

Photo from ELTPics “Huayhuash Lake in Peru” by @VictoriaB52

 

 

This post is part of my reading response to the first unit of a Blended Learning course (#BlendKit14) that I am currently taking online (offered by the University of Central Florida and the American Association of State Colleges and Universities). I will continue posting on the topic of blended learning over the next four weeks.

Although I am not planning on designing a blended course for ELT at the moment, I am curious about the possibility of teaching English for Academic Purposes (EAP) online in the future. I would love to find out from teachers (or learners reading this blog!) if you think there could be advantages combining online and onsite learning activities in EAP. Also, what should we be mindful of when designing blended courses? I teach an English writing class to first year university students in non-English speaking country, and I am often looking for ways in which students will be encouraged to collaborate with each other in their writing and/or while reading and analyzing texts in class. What if students came to class for presentations and debates, but also had time offline to write their reading responses and interact with each other via forums and blog posts? Is blended learning a better alternative to traditional face-to-face courses or could it be mainly a beneficial option to some learners?

Hybrid or blended-courses are becoming more and more common at many higher education institutions nowadays. Some of the subjects taught range from accounting to marine biology classes. This is not surprising since the appeal of being able to learn through both onsite and online interactions is huge, especially when we consider that blended courses allow more flexibility for learners who need to complete work asynchronously due to their own work or personal schedules. But blended-learning works well for many learners not only because of the asynchronous nature of the learning activities in the online component. Blended courses allow participants to connect with each other in ways in which a traditional classroom does not often encourage (e.g., via blogs, sharing sources). Also, students get to participate in class by using different skills than those required in traditional face-to-face education only. Think of reading seminars and group work; discussions in online forums allow participants more time to think and polish their responses -a luxury we often don’t have when participating in a live class discussion. Additionally, in a face-to-face class we do not have the option of ‘skimming’ replies from participants who are speaking and focus our attention on replying to comments that caught our attention. I speak from personal experience here. Having completed an MA in TESOL (online) at the New School with the chance of taking some courses onsite during the summer, I have to say that quite often I enjoyed the online discussions more since I could browse different responses and think more about the replies I gave to others’ posts. I enjoy face-to-face discussions, but from my experience I’ve come to believe that online discussions can be deeper and more challenging at times.

By designing a course in which web 2.0 technologies are incorporated in addition to more common methods, learners are given the chance to explore online resources that they’ll be able to use and refer to in the future. BlendKit2014 facilitator Kelvin Thomson explains in his first chapter of the Blendkit Reader that “blended learning lends itself to learner-centered, teacher-guided (as opposed to teacher-directed), interactive, and student-collaborative learning.” As a teacher (and learner) who is drawn to the use of technology when exploring new content and connecting to others, I find myself wondering how a hybrid or blended course would work for English language learners in an academic context. What exactly about having an online component could benefit students in EAP? What are the limitations to keep in mind? I would love to see peer reviews conducted online, hoping that perhaps some of the insecurities of giving peer feedback in person would be lessened. But would they?

I’ll probably have more questions (and perhaps some answers?) as I keep reading and interacting with others in the BlendKit course. For now, I hope to hear from other teachers interested in blended learning. Please share some of your thoughts!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Thinking About Blended Learning in EAP

  1. Hi Laura,
    I teach writing skills to second-year undergraduates; officially the course is referred to as blended, but is in fact run almost entirely online. As I see it, one of the main benefits of teaching/practicing writing skills online is that students are writing for a larger audience (not just the instructor). This means greater opportunities for authentic written communication, and as my students are journalism/PR majors, this is what they will hopefully be engaging in in the course of their future careers.
    I taught EAP to first-year students for a couple of years as well (social sciences & humanities majors), and although this was in a F2F environment, I’ve recently been thinking that the benefit described above would also have been felt.
    One thing I’m not entirely sure about is whether a successful blended course is possible if students still have to attend the same number of F2F classes as if it were classroom-based. I introduced some online tools into my writing skills course while it was taught on campus, but students were somewhat reluctant to join in, for instance, forum discussions. Of course, this may have been due to my inexperience in e-moderation, but I’ve also wondered whether they were less motivated because they knew it would essentially mean doing (possibly quite a bit) more work than was required. Offering the course as a combination of, say, 30 hrs F2F + 30 hrs online would require institutional support, and I wonder whether that might be difficult to organize in some places.
    Anyway, an interesting post and I’m looking forward to more reflections on the BlendKit course!

  2. Hi Vedrana!

    Thanks for your very thoughtful reply! I’ll keep you in mind as the course moves along and try to poke your brain here and there on different suggestions/topics that come up.

    For one, I hadn’t thought about the fact that writing online could allow for a more authentic audience, but of course! I wonder how I could incorporate some of this in the 101 course I’m designing for next semester…

    I definitely agree with you in saying that F2F hours should not be the same in blended course. In fact, I’m glad you brought that up because it’s an important reminder. Not only do the F2F hours need to be less if we’re talking about a blended course, but also we need to be careful of how many tasks and activities we add to the online component. I don’t speak from experience as an instructor, but as a student who has taken courses online, I have experienced courses that were overloaded. As someone who tends to plan way more than I actually get to do in class, I could see this being something I’d have to be mindful of when planning my courses.

    I find online forums to be challenging, too. Again, I’m speaking from the student perspective mainly since I’ve had few forums in my current courses. In some of the best courses I’ve taken online, the forums worked well because the instructor was present in the discussions, asking probing questions and encouraging people to expand their answers. It also helped having motivated classmates who participated throughout the week instead of waiting to post at the very end. One instructor I had helped us do this by posing two questions but only opening one discussion board at the time (spacing out replies).

    Anyway, this reply is getting really long now. Hope we’ll keep the “conversation” going!

    Thanks again for commenting 🙂

    Laura.

Leave a Reply

Decentralised Teaching and Learning

“Not all who wander are lost”. J R R Tolkien

Comments on: WHAT IS #ELTChat?

Reflections on Teaching and Learning

Ctrl+Alt+Dem

Research on alternative democratic life in Europe

Muddles into Maxims

reflecting on training, teaching, and learning on and around a 4-week ELT cert course

TatyGoRa's ELT Think Tank

As an English language teacher who loves sharing knowledge and ideas with other teachers in the ELT world, I've started an ELT ThinkTank initiative. Come along for the ride!

The TEFL Show

Podcasts about teaching English and learning languages

Curious & Inspired

Everyone. Everywhere. Everything.

Higor's ELT blog

A teacher's ideas on teaching, teacher training, and learning

SiSAL Journal

Studies in Self-Access Learning

TEFL Equity Advocates

for equal employment opportunities for native and non-native english speakers in ELT

Evelyn Izquierdo

Welcome to my e-portfolio, blogging & curating space!

egcloyd

For those intrigued by, curious about, and interested in second language learning

Lizzie Pinard

Reflections of an English Language Teacher

Independent English

Helping you find new ways to improve your English

iamlearningteaching

Follow me as I'm learning teaching

Diary of a Newbie CELTA Trainer

...and thoughts about this and that in ELT (a personal blog: all nonsense is mine!)

EFL Notes

Random commentary on teaching English as a foreign language

Simple English ~ Nicola Prentis

Thoughts on ELT, English and whatever else comes into my head

tjhampson

Blogging about what's going on in my classroom and in my head.

Doing some thinking

General thoughts on education and ESOL

Film English

by Kieran Donaghy

designer lessons

A collection of ELT resources

Elt sustainable

English Language Teaching gets eco-friendly

elt-resourceful

Full of tips and ideas for creating ELT and ESOL resources

aplinglink

For those doing postgraduate work in Applied Linguistics

